Online services

Data sharing for driver profile

Updated 5/18/2020

Data sharing for driver profile

When you start to use a new driver profile, the data sharing settings for the profile will be set to the car's standard settings and deactivated.

If you choose to start to use a new driver profile, data sharing needs to be activated for the online services to be used by the profile. This also applies if you have previously activated data sharing for online services in other driver profiles.

On some occasions, after a workshop visit or after a software update, some settings in your car may have been reset to their standard settings. Since the data sharing settings are unique to each driver profile, data sharing needs to be reactivated individually for each profile.

Note

When you buy a Volvo, the dealer can often provide assistance with settings in the car and go through the various setting options with you as customer. Among other things, this could mean that data sharing was already activated for connected services in the new car at the time of delivery.

If you then start to use a new driver profile, the data sharing settings for the new profile will be deactivated and need to be activated for the connected services that shall be used. This also applies to data sharing settings for downloaded apps.

Check which driver profile is in use

The data sharing settings may have different appearances in different driver profiles in your car. For example, a profile may have data sharing activated for only one online service, while another has the function activated for all services and downloaded apps.

If you notice that some apps or online services do not seem to work properly in your car, e.g. if you are repeatedly prompted to allow data sharing for certain functions, check which driver profile is active and the services for which the profile has activated data sharing.

You can change driver profile under Profile in the top view in your centre display.

You can always choose to activate data sharing for the online services you want available to use in a driver profile, but if the profile's settings are protected and saved then all changes you make will be temporary. This is because all settings for a protected driver profile will return to the last saved value when the car is switched off and locked.

To save changes made in a protected driver profile, go to SettingsSystemDriver ProfilesEdit Profile in your centre display and tap to save changes for the profile at the bottom of the screen.


Did this help?