Volvo On Call

6 Results

Settings for privacy and data sharing are unique to each driver profile

Updated 11/25/2019

Settings for privacy and data sharing are unique to each driver profile

When you start to use a new driver profile, the data sharing settings for the profile are set to the car's default settings and are deactivated.

If you choose to start to use a new driver profile, data sharing needs to be activated for the connected services that shall be used by the profile. This even applies if you previously activated data sharing for connected services for other driver profiles.

Sometimes after a workshop visit or software update, some settings in your car may have been reset to their default settings. Since the data sharing settings are unique to each driver profile, data sharing must be reactivated individually for each profile.

Note

When you buy a Volvo, the dealer can often provide assistance with settings in the car and go through the various setting options with you as customer. Among other things, this could mean that data sharing was already activated for connected services in the new car at the time of delivery.

If you then start to use a new driver profile, the data sharing settings for the new profile will be deactivated and need to be activated for the connected services that shall be used. This also applies to data sharing settings for downloaded apps.

Check which driver profile is being used

The data sharing settings may have a different appearance for different driver profiles in your car. For example, one profile may have data sharing activated for only one connected service, while another has the function activated for all services and downloaded apps.

If some apps or connected services do not seem to work properly in your car, for example if have been asked on a number of occasions to allow data sharing for certain functions, check which driver profile is active and for which services the profile has activated data sharing.

You can change driver profile under Profile in the top view in your centre display.

You can choose to activate data sharing at any time for the connected services you want available in a driver profile, but the changes will only be temporary if the settings of the profile have been protected and saved. This is because if a driver profile has been protected, all settings will be restored to the last saved value when the car is switched off and locked.

To save changes made in a protected driver profile, go to SettingsSystemDriver ProfilesEdit Profile in your centre display and press to save changes for a profile at the bottom of the screen.

Car model/model year

XC90 and XC90 Twin Engine of model year 2016 onwards with installed or updated software available from and including November 2017

S90, V90 and V90 Cross Country of model year 2017 onwards with installed or updated software available from and including November 2017

XC40, XC60, XC60 Twin Engine, V90 Twin Engine and S90 Twin Engine of model year 2018 onwards with installed or updated software available from and including November 2017

V60, V60 Twin Engine and V60 Cross Country of model year 2019 onwards

S60 and S60 Twin Engine of model year 2020 onwards

The range of models may vary depending on market.


This article is applicable to

Car model/model year

XC90 and XC90 Twin Engine of model year 2016 onwards with installed or updated software available from and including November 2017

S90, V90 and V90 Cross Country of model year 2017 onwards with installed or updated software available from and including November 2017

XC40, XC60, XC60 Twin Engine, V90 Twin Engine and S90 Twin Engine of model year 2018 onwards with installed or updated software available from and including November 2017

V60, V60 Twin Engine and V60 Cross Country of model year 2019 onwards

S60 and S60 Twin Engine of model year 2020 onwards

The range of models may vary depending on market.


Did this help?


Privacy and data sharing

Many connected services and apps need to be able to send and receive information and data. The data sharing function for your connected services and apps is deactivated as standard. To be able to use certain connected services and apps in the car, you must choose yourself to activate data sharing for them.

Activate data sharing in connection with starting a connected service or app

If you have not activated data sharing for a connected service or downloaded apps, you can do this in connection with starting them in your centre display. The first time you start a service, or after e.g. a factory reset or certain software updates, you must also accept Volvo's terms and conditions for connected services.

Activate data sharing for connected services and downloaded apps via the settings menu

You can activate data sharing for connected services and downloaded apps via the settings menu in your centre display.

Switch off data sharing and personal information for different systems

For certain car models, individual systems may need resetting, if you do not want them to share data from your car. See section "This article is relevant to" to see if this text is relevant to your car. Note that you will not be able to use your functions fully if some functionality is switched off.

Delete user data from your Volvo

If you are going to sell a Volvo which is equipped with Sensus Connect, you should delete all personal data from the car and restore the car to its original factory settings.