The purpose is to inform about Volvo's user terms and conditions and policy for data sharing. By accepting data sharing, the user accepts that certain information is sent from the car. This is required so that certain services and apps can have full functionality.
The data sharing function for online services and apps is deactivated as defaultDoes not apply to Volvo On Call*.. Data sharing needs to be activated so that certain online services and apps in the car can be used. Data sharing can be set from the centre display's settings menu or in connection with the services or apps being started in the centre display.
Privacy and data sharing
With the software update made available November 2017, privacy and data sharing settings were introduced for online services and downloaded apps. The settings can be found under Privacy and data in the settings menu in the car's centre display.
There you can select the online services which are allowed to share data. Data sharing for downloaded apps can also be deactivated there. Note that services and apps cannot be used as intended if data sharing is deactivated.
After a factory reset or e.g. a workshop visit or software update, the data sharing settings may have been reset to their default settings. In which case, reactivate data sharing for online services and for downloaded apps.
Privacy and data sharing settings are unique for every driver profile.