Voice control language settings

There are various language settings for the voice control system in your Volvo. This article describes the languages available and the language settings possible for these.

General information on languages and voice control

The voice control system has one language activated at a time, and this is the same language as the one shown in the car's display. If the system language set for the car is not supported by voice control, the voice control function is disabled.

The following system languages are supported: English (UK), English (US), Flemish, French, French (Canada), Italian, Chinese (Mandarin), Dutch, Russian, Spanish, Spanish (Latin America), Norwegian, Japanese, Swedish and German.

Change language

To change the voice control language, you need to change the system language in the car. The change of language also impacts on the car's display texts. If the voice control symbol appears next to the language, the language is supported by voice control.


Press Settings in top view.
Press SystemSystem Language and select a language.

Searching for contacts in another language

To search for and call a contact, try pronouncing the name of the contact in the language that is set as system language.

This article is applicable to

    Car model/model year
  • XC90 and XC90 Twin Engine/Recharge Plug-in Hybrid from model year 2016 to 2022.

  • S90, V90 and V90 Cross Country from model year 2017 to 2021.

  • XC60, XC60 Twin Engine/Recharge Plug-in Hybrid, V90 Twin Engine/Recharge Plug-in Hybrid and S90 Twin Engine/Recharge Plug-in Hybrid from model year 2018 to 2021.

  • XC40 from model year 2018 onwards.

  • V60, V60 Twin Engine/Recharge Plug-in Hybrid, V60 Cross Country, S60, S60 Twin Engine/Recharge Plug-in Hybrid from model year 2019 to 2022.

  • XC40 Twin Engine/Recharge Plug-in Hybrid from model year 2020 onwards.

  • The range of models may vary depending on market.

  • Sensus Navigation

Did this help?