If the car has been involved in a collision, the text Safety modeSee Owner's manual is shown in the driver display together with the warning symbol. This means that the car has reduced functionality.
If the car is set in safety mode, it is possible to try to reset the system and then start and move the car from a dangerous position.
Never attempt to repair your car or reset the electronics yourself if the car has been in safety mode. This could result in personal injury or the car not functioning as normal. Volvo recommends that engaging an authorised Volvo workshop to check and restore the car to normal status after Safety modeSee Owner's manual has been shown.
If the car is in safety mode it must not be towed. It must be transported from its location. Volvo recommends that it is transported to an authorised Volvo workshop.