The gearbox is part of the car's powertrain (power transmission) between engine and drive wheels. The function of the gearbox is to change the gear ratio depending on speed and power requirements.

There are two main types of gearbox, manual and automatic.

The manual gearbox has six gears and the automatic gearbox has eight. The number of gear changes means that the engine's torque and power range can be used effectively. In the automatic gearbox, two of the gears are overdrive gears that save fuel when driving at constant engine speed.

It is also possible to select gears manually with the automatic gearbox. The driver display respectively shows which gear or gear position is currently in use.