Uninstalling the Volvo Cars app

Updated 6/10/2022

Before you uninstall the Volvo Cars app, be sure you have either disconnected from or ended ownership of your car to properly remove the connection between your phone and car. It may cause inconvenience for you to connect to your car in the future if you only remove the application from your phone.

This article will describe three different ways of making sure that your phone is disconnected from your car.

The following article is applicable for the cars listed below:

  • C40 (Electric) Model year 2022 and later
  • S60, S60 Twin Engine/Recharge, Model year 2023 and later
  • S90, S90 Recharge, Model year 2022 and later
  • V60, V60 Twin Engine/Recharge and V60 Cross Country Model year 2023 and later
  • V90, V90Recharge, V90 Cross Country, Model year 2022 and later
  • XC40 Recharge (Electric) Model year 2021 and later
  • XC40 Mild Hybrid Model year 2023 and later
  • XC60, XC60 Recharge Model year 2022 and later
  • XC90 och XC90 Twin Engine/Recharge Model year 2023 and later

1. End Ownership through the Volvo Cars app (Owner)

By ending ownership of the car, all connections with the car will be removed and any profiles in the car will be removed.

If you are ending your ownership of your car, you must perform the following steps to ensure a complete reset of your car.

  • Make sure you are logged into the Volvo Cars app.
  • Go to Px-22w23-Latest Info-Account symbol, Connected cars and click the vehicle you want to end the ownership to.
  • Press I no longer own this Volvo and click Reset when the dialogue window appears.

This will reset the connections to the car, the profiles in the car, and will reset the car upon startup.

A reset of the car means that all its settings will be reset to factory defaults.

2.Disconnect a connected phone from the car

By disconnecting the phone from the car, you will remove the car connection for your chosen device.

If you want to disconnect your phone from the car, follow these steps. The owner as well as the admin will be able to view and disconnect all devices connected to their car.

  • Make sure you are logged into the Volvo Cars app.
  • Go to Px-22w23-Latest Info-Account symbol, Connected cars and click the vehicle you want to end the ownership to.
  • Press Disconnect next to the device you want to disconnect from the car and click Disconnect when the dialogue window appears.

The chosen device will be disconnected from the car, but other devices will remain connected.

3. Perform a factory reset (admin).

Resetting user data and settings is done through the center display.

Settings that can be restored to their defaults:

  • app settings
  • network settings (only admin)
  • factory reset (admin only) – profiles, user data, connected keys and personal settings are deleted

In the event of a change of ownership, user data and system settings should be restored to a factory reset.

Restoring settings via the centre display

  1. Press iCup-2037-Settings symbol
  2. Continue to System, Restore settings to restore the desired setting.

To be able to restore network settings or factory settings in the car, the user profile must have administrator rights, which is obtained by clicking on the Become an admin option in the profile view.

For further information about reinstall and pair the Volvo Cars app, please follow link.


Did this help?