The gearbox is part of the car's powertrain (power transmission) between engine and drive wheels. The function of the gearbox is to change the gear ratio depending on speed and power requirements.

There are two main types of gearbox, manual and automatic.

The manual gearbox has six gears. The automatic gearbox can have either eight gears or six gears depending on which engine the car is equipped with. The number of gear changes means that the engine's torque and power range can be used effectively.

It is also possible to select gears manually with the automatic gearbox. The driver display respectively shows which gear or gear position is currently in use.


To prevent damage to any drive system components, the working temperature of the gearbox is checked. If there is a risk of overheating, a warning symbol illuminates in the driver display and a text message is shown - follow the recommendation given.

Symbols in the driver display

If a fault should occur in the gearbox, the driver display shows a symbol and a message.

P5-1519-XC90 hybrid-Dim soul symbol- transmission
Information or error message for gearbox. Follow the recommendation given.
P5-1519-XC90 Hybrid-Dim soul symbol- transmission temperature
Hot or overheated gearbox. Follow the recommendation given.
P5-15w19-XC90H-Symbol-Reduced speed limit-warning

Reduced performance/Acceleration performance reduced

In the event of a temporary powertrain fault, the car can go into a Limp home mode with reduced engine power to prevent damage to the powertrain.