Buying or selling a car with Volvo On Call*
Closing the Volvo On Call service
Contact a Volvo dealer in the event of change of ownership in order to close the service. The dealer cancels the subscription and the service history is deleted. The service can also be closed using the Volvo On Call app.
In the event of change of ownership it is important to reset personal settings and user data in the car to the original factory settings. This is performed via the settings menu in the centre display.
Volvo ID is personal and does not need to be changed or deleted when the car is sold. On the other hand, the ownership and the link between the Volvo On Call app and the car must be terminated.
Change of owner when changing country
When a car is purchased and imported to a different country, the owner should take care to visit a dealer in the country in which the car is purchased. They should then delete all customer data in their systems. In the country to which the car is imported, the owner should contact a dealer for help with starting the Volvo On Call service.
Starting the Volvo On Call service
Buying a used car with Volvo On Call:
The new owner contacts their Volvo dealer, who transfers the time remaining on the subscription to the new owner. The dealer deletes the previous owner's information unless this has already been done. It is important that the contact details are updated for Volvo On Call to work and that the previous owner does not have access to Volvo On Call services in the car.
The Volvo dealer notifies the new owner of the status of the car's Volvo On Call subscription. The new owner receives a personal, four-digit PIN code that is required for identification as the owner (or other authorised person) and to be allowed to access certain services. If the owner does not already have a Volvo ID, this needs to be created so that the Volvo On Call app can then be connected to the car.